English EN Spanish ES German DE Portuguese PT Polish PL
Out of Work? Check-In to DC7 Staff Login Member Login

2019 Winners for Scholarship Essay Contest

12 Aug 2019

The 12 th Annual International Union and Painters & Allied Trades District Council No. 7 Scholarship Essay Contest was judged by the President of the Wisconsin State AFL-CIO, Stephanie Bloomingdale. Many thanks go out to Stephanie Bloomingdale for volunteering her time and efforts. The awards were presented at the Wednesday, August 7, 2019 District Council 7 Delegate Meeting.

Applications for the contest were accepted through July 8, 2019. All submitted essays were from a dependent child of an IUPAT DC 7 member in “good standing". All applicants showed proof of acceptance at a certified college, university, vocational, trade school, or other accredited institute of higher learning. This year's recipients received cash prizes ranging from $500.00 - $2,000.00.

The subject of the essay was "What role did women play in the labor movement history, and what role do you see women in the future of labor?"

The Winners

  1. Georgia Kendall took first prize and earned a $2,000 scholarship to UW-Eau Claire. Read her essay.
  2. Micaela Christensen took second prize and earned a $1,000 scholarship to UW-Milwaukee. Read her essay.
  3. Thomas Hakola took third prize and earned a $500 scholarship to UW-Whitewater. Read his essay.
  4. Erin Osborne took fourth prize and earned a $500 scholarship to UW-Stevens Point. Read her essay.
  5. Audrey Rose Charlier took fifth prize and earned a $500 scholarship to UW-Madison. Read her essay.
  6. Isabel Szablewski took sixth prize and earned a $500 scholarship to Carroll University. Read her essay.